Jen’s Mother and Child Reunion

My favorite brunch place in Ft. Worth is Bird Cafe. *Amazing* food and it has a bit of a New Orleans feel. If you’re ever in town, it’s a must-do! They have a dish called “The Mother and Child Reunion”. <I know!> Sick joke but amazing dish. Fried chicken and a poached egg over chili cheese grits with a spoonful of bacon gravy. This is my healthy spin on that.

Jen’s Mother and Child Reunion

Serves 4

Heat a nice big skillet over medium high and add:
2 Tablespoons olive oil

Let that warm and add:
2 poblano peppers – sliced
1/2 red onion, sliced
2 sweet bell peppers – sliced
Let it cook, stirring frequently, until they soften and you get a little color. Plate.

I know. It looks like a Mardi Gras plate. I told you it puts my subconscious in New Orleans… 😀

1 1/2 pounds chicken breasts (about 2, both split in half to make thinner cutlets)
Adobo
Fresh black pepper

Season the chicken and add 2 Tablespoons olive oil to the skillet, and cook the chicken to an internal temp of 165 degrees F. Around 145, add:
1 slice pepper jack or Monterey jack to each to give it time to melt.

Plate over sliced tomato and top with a fried egg.


Need anything? I’m an Amazon Affiliate. Any time you use one of my links to get to Amazon to make a purchase, Amazon gives me a tiny percentage. I put it back into next year’s blog fees. Thank you!

My favorite cast iron skillet is a 12″ Lodge dual handle pan. Why, the long handles are too heavy to hold with a single hand when they’re loaded up. Since you’re using two hands anyway, you might as well get the ones that take up less space and stack so much better!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is lodge-12.jpg

Lodge 12″ dual handle cast-iron pan

My favorite knife. It’s a 7″ full tang Santoku. Full tang just means that the blade runs the full length of the knife. The blade and handle aren’t two separate components, so there’s no breaking point. I chose the Ikon handle design, which is wonderfully ergonomic. I have spent hours on a produce sculpture before and my hand was just as comfy at the end. It’s worth the pennies.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 21-fzcm1jvl._ac_.jpg

Wusthof WU4176 Classic Ikon 7-Inch Santoku, Hollow Edge, Black

I get asked about my spice wall all the time. The magnetic tins on the wall are great for any spices or salt-free blends. Salt corrodes the tins, so anything with salt is in a glass jar on the counter underneath.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 71iqcq6toil._ac_sl1001_.jpg

20 magnetic spice tins

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 21eqcqszfvl._ac_-1-e1592592949291.jpg

12″ x 24″ magnetic base






5 thoughts on “Jen’s Mother and Child Reunion

  1. That is cute, Jen! There is a traditional Japanese dish called “parent and child bowl”, Oyakodon, a comfort food bowl of rice topped with an egg and chicken preparation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment